top of page

Full List of Winners: 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards (2023)

Organized by Sports Chosun, the 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards was held at the Yeouido KBS Hall on November 24, 2023. Smugglers won Best Film while Um Tae-hwa (Concrete Utopia) was awarded Best Director. Jung Yu-mi (Sleep) and Lee Byung-hun (Concrete Utopia) took home the Best Actress and Best Actor trophies, respectively.

GwenchaNoona News | Full List of 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards Winners (2023) (photos of Lee Byung-hun of "Concrete Utopia", Best Actor, The 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards trophy, and emcee Kim Hye-soo accepting an honorary award from Jung Woo-sung)

Photos from Sports Chosun and AsianWiki

Popular Star Awardees Jo In-sung, Song Joong-ki, Park Bo-young, and Kim Seon-ho stunned everyone with their grace and charm since they walked the red carpet.

Kim Hye-soo and Yoo Yeon-seok hosted the event. The night concluded with Kim Hye-soo being honored for her three decades of service as Blue Dragon Film Awards master of ceremonies and for being a strong pillar of South Korean cinema.

Driven by its mission to promote the South Korean movie industry, the Blue Dragon Film Awards has become one of the most prestigious awards honoring the movers and shakers of South Korean cinema.


This year's winners are the following:

Best Picture: Smugglers

Best Director: Um Tae-hwa, Concrete Utopia

Best Actress: Jung Yu-mi, Sleep

Best Actor: Lee Byung-hun, Concrete Utopia

Best Supporting Actress: Jeon Yeo-been, Cobweb

Best Supporting Actor: Jo In-sung, Smugglers

Best New Director: Ahn Tae-jin, The Night Owl

Best New Actress: Go Min-si, Smugglers

Best New Actor: Hong Sa-bin, Hopeless

Best Screenplay: July Jung, Next Sohee

Best Art Direction: Jeong Yi-jin, Cobweb

Best Music: Jang Ki-ha, Smugglers

Best Technical Achievement (Visual Effects): Jin Jong-hyun, The Moon

Best Editing: Kim Sun-min, The Night Owl

Best Cinematography and Lighting: Kim Tae-kyung and Hong Seung-chul, The Night Owl

Audience Choice Award for Most Popular Film: The Roundup: No Way Out

Best Short Film: Yoo Jae-in, Ghwa the Last Name

Popular Star Awards: Jo In-sung, Song Joong-ki, Park Bo-young, and Kim Seon-ho

GwenchaNoona News | Group photo of 44th Blue Dragon Film Awards winners

Photo from Sports Chosun


In a surprise appearance, Jung Woo-sung presented Kim Hye-soo an honorary award for having hosted the ceremony since 1993 and concluding her service during this year's event.

“I started hosting the Blue Dragon Film Awards with the hope of following the ins and outs of the film industry and being a part of its development 31 years ago. Hosting the ceremony has become an end-of-the-year ritual over the years and it feels like a part of me. I do believe that I have done my best as a female host for the awards and I won’t look back,” said Kim Hye-soo as she accepted the award.

KBS and KBS2 broadcast the ceremony live across many countries. The official KBS YouTube channel @KBSEnt also live-streamed the event. See the full coverage below:

Congratulations to all the winners!


bottom of page